Tringgg..

–by Shan Tanu

Tingggggg ….my mobile alerts me to yet another message received.

At the fag end of the day all my activities are in slow motion. Well somebody had posted a link of a youtube video. Without even checking the author I click it.

The next two minutes are pure bliss as I watch a Plain Tiger butterfly emerge from its chrysalis. I remember the author of the video to be the person who a couple of days back was trepid in trying to rear a butterfly.

There is a sense of relief bordering on pride.

It’s been around an year that I have been introduced to the wonderful world of butterflies. Like all humans it does not take time to find our people with common interest. And today we butterfly enthusiasts are cocooned in a virtual world of our own, where we find solace after a hard days work in our different and varied fields. Some students, some work in office, some self employed but all equally enthusiastic to talk about butterflies.

DSC_0393
Striped Pierrot

After watching the flying beauties, I bought a book to learn more about them. I learnt about camouflage, mimicry, aberrations, host plants and such stuff, which was enough to keep me hooked for a lifetime.

Yellow Orange Tip

Then one day I decided to bring one caterpillar home. Carrying it with very light touch I was relieved when I managed to place it in a Butter Box. The first few days went observing its actions, day or night and getting excited by its every movement. The leaves were chomped off and incredible amount of waste was generated. Photographing the caterpillar phase was rewarding in itself.

One day the caterpillar decided to stop eating. Lethargic in its movements it still managed to confuse me about its next course of action. It was only the next day when it was almost immobile in a typical pose that I knew that it had decided to form into a chrysalis.

The next period of external inactivity but internal metamorphosis was a very interesting phase. There were only a progressive slight change in the color which was enough to let me know that there existed a lifeform inside.

On the D day the whole chrysalis changed color . The abdominal rings and the wing shape as well as the butterfly color could be made out. After waiting for half a day some movement was observed in the chysallis which was immobile for all this time. A split line and a colourful insect climbed out. The wings were unwrapped, the proboscis was joined and the body was dried. The it flew off……….this was the perfect metamorphosis leading to freedom. I was so excited.

I am glad that the excitement still continues and I have managed to pass it on to a couple of more people. The sense of happiness and amazement permeates to the whole family. People take videos and post them for postierity.

Psyche

An insect you said? Well this insect has the power to make you happy, and that is more than many humans!

***

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.